270 tire pyrolysis units will be closed in India at the request of the Central Pollution Control Board (CPCB) which claimed that 19 states failed to comply with environmental regulations; the corresponding order has been issued by the National Green Tribunal (NGT).

The list of the states practicing unsafe pyrolysis include Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand, as noted by the local media.

According to the CPCB, the units in the mentioned states were polluting the environment and had negative impact on the health of the facilities’ workers. The NGT plea claimed that during pyrolysis, extremely carcinogenic pollutants were released - polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAH), dioxin, furans, just to mention some.

CPCB also directed to conduct monitoring efforts to make sure that all import of unsafe waste takes place in accordance with Hazardous and Other Wastes (Management and Transboundary Movement) Rules 2016.

Article by Daily Pioneer.